The fur trappers push farther west, but now as free men.

Free Men

Volume II of the Temple Buck Quartet 1824 — 1826

by Edward Louis Henry

In this, the second volume of the Temple Buck Quartet, Temple chronicles the exploits of his rowdy trapper companions in the American Rocky Mountain fur trade from 1824—1826. The men decide to become free agents rather than being tied to one company and feel even greater pride in their new status as well as their reputation for courage and an adventurous spirit. They push ever farther west in their quest for beaver pelts, exploring new country and encountering fresh adventures, some of them welcome, others not at all. This well-researched tale blends historical and fictional characters against a colorful backdrop of actual events flavored with gory battles with hostile Indians, homespun humor, and earthy romance, culminating in Temple’s disappointing return to his Ohio birthplace. You are cordially invited to join Temple and his fellow trappers, the only truly free men in all of history.

ISBN 978-0-9837225-4-0 • 6 x 9 paperback • 394 pgs • $26.95

About the author

CMPheadsofstatePD_AK-for-website-0808111

Edward Louis Henry has been a cowhand, saddle bronc rodeo rider, WWII infantry sergeant, reporter, U.S. Foreign Service officer and speechwriter, plus has spent 30 years in advertising. A lifelong horseman and outdoorsman, Henry is active in mountain man rendezvous where he is known by his mountain man moniker, Poredevil. Western history is his passion. His extensive research adds a strong dose of authenticity to his books. He is a member of Western Writers of America and the author of the Temple Buck Quartet and Poredevil’s Beaver Tales. He lives in Bozeman, Montana, with his wife Gloria.

Books by Edward Louis Henry

     BackboneWorldFinal FreeMenFinal Shinin' Times! by Edward Louis Henry Glory Days Gone Under 3DPoredevilFinal

Reviews

FreeMenFinal

“Always love this style of book and Henry does it right. Authentic and real as can be.”
— Jeff Shaw

“I have read Temple Buck’s adventures in all three books so far published. In fact I have read them twice because I enjoy them so much.There are very few novels written about the fur trade and none that I have enjoyed as much as Mr. Henry’s. For those readers who enjoy Terry C. Johnston and A.B Guthrie,Jr.,they will find Mr.Henry’s novel equal to or perhaps better than their favorites.”
—Bob Janes

5.0 out of 5 stars Lose yourself in the rugged Rockies
“Indians – friendly and unfriendly, trappers – resourceful and tough as nails, the mountains – beautiful but treacherous, grizzly bears, storm and tempest, ice and snow, heroes and villains – they’re all here. A rollicking good yarn, engrossing and entertaining. Enjoy it – 5 stars.”
— coffeeloving wombat Amazon review

5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful journey
“Great book-great series – these books are wonderful to read”
— John Nagy

5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing the mind and spirit
“When I started to read the first of the quartet, I was immediately engaged in the life of Temple Buck. … Now halfway into the third of the quartet, I am just as emotionally involved as the first book. Also, surprisingly sexy added in here and there. I highly suggest you to read them.”
—Hard Thinker

5.0 out of 5 stars Poredevil’s Tales, always exciting!
“I enjoyed this book tremendously. I knew the author and his love of the Fur Trade Era, and Western American History. I highly recommend this book for some very entertaining adventure and fine reading.”
—Laurel Stark

5.0 out of 5 stars Free Men,
“A work of fiction based on lots of historical facts. A well written tale taking place in the fur trade of the early 1800’s. A sequel to Backbone of the World, another excellent read.”
—Dale Nelson

Interviews

Home Ground Interview

In the American myth, Mountain Men were loners, fighting Indians and the elements on their own. According to author Edward Louis Henry, in his interview on Yellowstone Public Radio’s Home Ground program, that isn’t quite the way it was. Listen to the author in his own words.